It has been a long time since I have sat down and watched television. I remember as a child watching television for hours. Maybe it was innocence and wanting to know more about the world, or simply, television was a lot more entertaining. Over the last few years the television for me has somewhat become an artifact, gathering dust in the corner of my house. The lack of interest I have in the programs and its content has been much for evident for me as I would rather read  a book. However, a growing trend of reality tv shows has come about.

To think that major corporations are the ones who are responsible for the media, but not necessarily this; they control the way we view the media and thus the world. Setting ideologies and creating new versions or distorted realities, almost like a dystopian world.

I believe that the media is very much responsible in shaping the way that children see them themselves. Sexualization of children is big in today’s society but has been around for a long time in even children’s tv shows. A great example of this is sexual messages in Disney films. One of the shows that stands out for me is Toddlers and Tiaras where the contestants are competing in a pageant. These girls (and boys) are from the ages of 0-12. This show has had many controversies surrounding the sexualization of children and how, most astonishingly, the parents support it.

I think its important for us as a society to understand how media shapes us and how it affects the way children view themselves. It’s important to know who controls the media and what their motives are to choose such programmes to air on television.

The Honey Boo Boo trailer.

